Where to start (total noob)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Mushroomgodmat

Über Member
Hi, looking for some advice!

Im quite happy riding 10 miles, but once I get past 15 I start to struggle. My longest single ride is 31 miles, folowed the next day by a 22 mile ride - which I took quite slowly and for the most part was easy....but only because I was going slow.

Today though, I rode 18 miles from work to home (an alternative route) for the most part I was going as quickly as I could, probably in the end averaged about 15mp, which I know is not exactly speedy, but a good 5 miles of that was in the city, with lots of stop/starts.

My question is.... What's the best options for food and drink on the go? In the above 18mile ride I had a single bottle, which was filed wilth orange squash. Is it worth drinking/or even eating something while I'm pushing myself. I know there's a lot of energy drinks/food, but I know nothing about these, what's good what's bad etc...

Any advice?

Klaus

The food and drink consideration is very personal to every rider.
On Sunday I did 40 miles with about 350 metres climbs in total - avg speed 10 mph !!
I had porridge and coffee in the morning, took a bottle of energy drink & water, plus two bananas.
Expected to stop for lunch as my metabolism works by the clock - however didn't feel like lunch at all,
the bananas and drink were enough. Back home I had a cup of tea & biscuits, then dinner at 8pm, as the family was out.
I felt I did much better than expected on the food front.
For your ride home I would recommend maybe a banana for extra energy.
BTW, even on this ride at about 20 miles I think I couldn't do it anymore but then applied "mind over matter".
You are doing well though judging by the distances you are covering.