Which Raleigh is this?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

GlasgowAli

Hi all!

New member here, Ali from Glasgow.

I'm new to the retro bike world having only bought brand new to date. During lockdown however I got hold of a couple of old Raleigh's on the local second hand markets. The pick of the two is an 82' Esprit hybrid, which was found in a garage in full working condition having only been ridden by the owner a few times when brand new. I'll post pics of that elsewhere.

The other bike is a bit of a mystery to me. It's a steel frame of '87 vintage (serial number on the BB shell starts WN7, which I gather means Nottingham built in late June / early July 1987). The bike has been resprayed a nice British Racing Green. It came without decals, so I've been trying to decipher the model myself as I'd like to replace them. My guess was a 531 tourer like a Royal or Granada, however it seems they came with rear cantilever brakes around this vintage whereas this only has a rear caliper mount.

Some other features:
- The top tube braze ons for the gear cables are on the underside on the non-drive side
- Single pump peg on the head tube
- Eyelets for mudguards front and back
- Embossed logo at top of seat stay
- Braze ons for the downtube shifters

The bike came with 105 caliper brakes front and back. The freewheel is a Regina Gran Sport Corse 5 speed. The front mech is Campag Veloce and the rear mech 8-speed 105. The chainset is Biopace 52/42. Assume all of that was installed later though.

Any help would be massively appreicated! Cheers for reading, I'm looking forward to interacting on these forums going forward.

Ali

Paulus

Started young, and still going.
Welcome to the forum.
I have seen Granada's with centre pull brakes before so it is feasible that these 105 calipers could have been fitted at some point later.
That's quite a nice frame though even if it is a mishmash of equipment.