wibbly wobbly ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hello all, got a bit of a question....
I have been riding for about 4 months. I bought a Scott scale 40 and have been pounding it around the Malvern hills in training for the mountain mayhem race ever since, banging out about 30-40 miles a week
and really enjoying it.Now that the fitness is getting better and a can manage harder longer climbs i find myself (on longer climbs ) weaving from side to side, almost to the point of snaking up the hill.Is this a normal thing will it stop when i get fitter/stronger? And if not has any body got any way of stopping it ?
ps . I tend to sit down when climbing as on the steep stuff i loose traction .

Cubist

Still wavin'
Sometimes the weaving is an efficient way to climb. Even if you run out of gears you can still make it up the hill by zig-zagging, as it lessens the gradient a little.

Climbing technique takes a bit of learning. You need to find a balance between rear wheel traction, and keeping some weight over the front wheel to stop it lifting every pedal stroke. You need to get into a low climbing gear straight away and spin if you can. Don't mash or honk a long hill unless you're confident you can make it all the way up, as crunching gear changes and losing forward momentum means a nightmare trying to restart, especially on clipless pedals on a high BB bike.