Wilier... any good

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

justAl

Hi, I've got max £1500 for a new road bike. I've looked at Cannondale CAAD9 105, GIANT & SPESH. But somebody mentioned Wilier who I'd never really given any thought. Has any one got any comments please? Also, without getting into Shim / Camp debate!! How do the ranges compare. E.G. mirage / veloce to tiagra/ 105 say. The Wilier Mortirolo - mirage comes in at £1499. Thanks, Al

py6km

I *almost* got a Wilier instead of my Trek - I found the particular one I tried a little 'twitchy' - I think the geometry on them definitely makes them more responsive to any slight movement you make. Lovely bikes though.

LazyLoki

£1500 for a bike with mirage seems a bit pricy to me. I'm not an expert on Campagnolo but I'm sure if I make a mistake one of the campag aficionados will correct me! So roughly:

Xenon - 2300
Mirage - Sora
Veloche - Tiagra/105
Centaur - 105
Chorus - Ultegra (but all the campag fans say equal to DA)
Record - Dura Ace
Super Record - Same as record but with titanium nobs on.

For what its worth, Campag have discontinued Xenon and Mirage now and Veloche is their entry level group - they've left the lower end of the market to Shimano which I think is fair enough as so few bikes were specced with it anyway.

monnet

Guru
Wilier's are beautiful bikes. THey are top quality and everyone I know who has one says they ride beautifully. They are very responsive, if you're after that kind of bike - if you're not used to racing geometry you may find that difficult.

Did I mention they're beautiful.

Geraldom

I have a Wilier Mortirolo 2010 Veloce and its a wonderful bike. Responsive and very comfortable (i've just done Etape Caledonia on it). I'd happily recommend, but i do think you pay about £100 extra for prestiege Italian name...

OP
OP
J

justAl

Unfortunately my budget won't go to £1800 for the Veloce option.And yes they do look very nice!!!