Winter clothing suggestions

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Mrbez

Hi Guys,

As I am new to riding, I would appreciate it if you guys could help me source some winter clothing.

At present, I have some padded bib shorts and two short sleep jerseys, along with a Altura Night Vision jacket that I bought yesterday.

I assume that I will need some kind of full length leg protection and also a long sleeve jersey?

I am on a budget as I have spent up on buying my bike etc!

Your help would be great. I don't mind buying used, I take an XL in short sleeve jerseys.

Regards.

Globalti

Legendary Member
The dhb kit from Wiggle is excellent value and well made. I use a long sleeve Windslam jersey in cool conditions: http://www.wiggle.co...indslam-jersey/

...and a heavier jacket for really cold weather worn over a Helly Hansen Lifa base layer: http://www.wiggle.co...cycling-jacket/

Oh and for the legs dhb's winter tights.

Don't bother buying cheapo stuff made in Pakistan from the web; I did and it was rubbish. I ended up flogging two long sleeve jerseys as they were so badly cut.

OP
OP
M

Mrbez

Do you guys wear waterproof pants in the wet or will a waterproof jacket and winter tights with overshoes be okay?

Globalti

Legendary Member
I don't think leisure cyclists wear waterproof overtrousers; they would get ridiculed by their mates and the troos would flap in the wind. Waterproof jacket and overshoes, sure, but legs need to move freely and lycra longs will be ok in the wet, they will dry out pretty fast so you just need to ride faster!

For commuting though over shorter distances and needing to arrive warm and dry, overtrousers would be OK in heavy rain. In 23 years of cycling I think I've worn overtrousers once.

OP
OP
M

Mrbez

Okay great.

Can you link me to the winter tights?

Also, are base layers beneficial? I assume only wear these in cold weather?

henshaw11

>waterproof jacket and winter tights with overshoes be okay