Wirral Bikeathon

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ukbikes

Anyone planning on doing this year's Wirral Bikeathon? This'll be my 7th year and I'm hoping it'll be dry this year, unlike 2011 & 2012.

I've recently written an extensive guide - 'How to Prepare for a Charity Bike Ride' to help less experienced cyclists prepare. I don't think I'm allowed to post the link yet as I'm still a newbie, however, search for it under that title and it's on the Bikes.org.uk website.

I've also just putting together a map and directions if anyone is interested (same website). The map will be interactive, include elevations and be downloadable for you GPS boys & girls!

aces_up1504

What are the distances? Is one 28 miles? What the off road sections like? Suitable for a Tricross?

OP
OP
ukbikes

ukbikes

What are the distances? Is one 28 miles? What the off road sections like? Suitable for a Tricross?

There are two circuits, one of 14 miles and the other 28 miles. Less experienced cyclists do the first loop (it's a figure-of-eight route) and the rest of us complete the full course. The route is scenic paths, woodland tracks and minor roads. It's suitable for all types of bike, including Tricross.

I've just written an article on it if you wanted for info, including an interactive map with distance & elevation markers and full directions.

The second loop is worst, I wouldn't do it on anything narrower than 28mm tyres, the start of that loop to Thingwall Rd is often muddy (but short) then just before the end is Landican bridleway that is a madly rough, usually muddy, and way too long in those conditions!

The local council (Wirral) are improving some of the surface in time for the ride (the narrow bit) so it should be much better than last year - mind you the first 50 roadies through last year took most of the mud away with them :-) leaving it OK for the rest!