Women Only Leeds and Reading

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Bluebell72

Hi All,

Although I'm not new to cycling, I'm new to any kind of 'event' riding. I'm more a soloist!
I thought I could ease myself into the big group type of things with one of these - a bit less pressure?

http://www.ctcchallengerides.co.uk/CTC_Leeds_womens_only_sportive.php

http://www.ctcchallengerides.co.uk/CTC_Reading_womens_only_sportive.php

I have never got over the shock of showing up to run my first 10k to find everyone else lycra-clad, vaselining themselves up, and wearing compression tights, while I wore a M&S t-shirt and adidas strides.
:blush:
Ha ha, still wasn't the last to finish though!

Any advice for what to do, not to do on the day - and what to bring??? Thankyou!

Spinney

Bimbleur extraordinaire
I've only ever done 1 sportive, but I didn't find it pressured at all. Sure, there were groups of lycra-clad roadies doing about twice my speed, but I bimbled along happily at my own pace, walked up the two steepest hills (with several others!), was't too far off the 'silver' time, and had a great ride.

What I'm saying, in a roundabout way, is I don't think you need to limit yourself to women-only events. Sportives are not supposed to be races. And you can easily ignore the few who try to make them into such.

funnymummy

A Dizzy M.A.B.I.L
I rode in my first Sportive last month, i've done loads of the Evans rides with my children, but decided was time to go for a solo speedier ride... Did feel very nervous looking at all those snazzy carbon bikes & toned legs in lycra.
I had a brill time, met some great folk, got some great advice, got overtaken by lots of folk, but managed to do a bit of overtaking too - Give it a go. Its great fun ...Can't wait for my next one now

Fiona N

Veteran
Hi Bluebell