Womens road bike for £500

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Vik

Hi, I'm new to the site and to road riding. I commute on a mountain bike, used to do a lot of road cycling as a teenager, and recently have done a few 30+ milers which have reignited my desire to do more but were hard work on my current bike, thus I'm thinking of buying a(nother) road bike.
I want an entry level bike and want to spend about £500.
Having spent a few hours researching I've singled out the following:

Specialized Dolce 2009 Women's Road Bike
Trek 1.2 Triple 2009 Women's Road Bike

but I'm no expert and dont really know what I should be looking for.
Like, should i be looking at mens bikes too? Do I need to spend this amount given I'm a relative beginner?

Any advice very welcome.

Flying_Monkey

Recyclist
They are both good bikes. The standard advice is to try them out and see which you prefer. Our bodies are all different sizes and shapes - but, in any case, adjustments by changing stem length etc. will take care of most problems once you have a decent frame in the right size.

OP
OP
V

Vik

Thanks for this. I've arranged to try them both out this week so I'll hopefully like one of them.

Priscilla Parsley