(Rant) How do you find a good mechanic...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

jack smith

Veteran
seriously! Im not trying to start an argument here but here is my background,
Ive built 5 bikes so far 2 s works, a cervelo, a scott and a boardman, im totally self taught from youtube and common sense, i bought a £25 tool kit from aldi 2 year ago and ive never needed anything else apart from my multitool with chaintool ect.

Obviously i can sort my own bikes and know how easy even a full build is, now friends of mine wont even try to learn or they try themselves and make a hash of it and they go to local mechanics. Pretty much everyone i know who has gone to one recently has had their bike returned knackered, the same as when it went in or has been rediculously overcharged.
(£80 for a gear service (no cables or anything and to replace a screw in shimano bb) had another friend today have his bike returned with the front mech cable rubbing on the front mech due to using the wrong adaptor. Ive had numerous others charged rediculous amounts for a rear mech adjustment, brake pads replaced ect. Basically 5-10 min jobs £40+ now i know they need to make a profit but come on look at the other proffessions you would have to be in to make £80 for the time it takes to adjust a barrel adjuster. And for it to come back still not working and to be skipping gears and grinding on the front mech, usually they take it back and give them MORE money to sort it, if your gullible they will have you for all they can get i guess.