England : Derbyshire Recommended routes from Sheffield into the Peak District?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hello all.

I'm returning to Sheffield (where I was a student some years ago) to do some work this week. I'll have my road bike and few mornings when I can sneak off for early sorties.

Could any locals recommend good circular routes out of the city and through the Peaks? I'll be staying in Pitsmoor. Owing to time constraints and general lameness on hills (I'm from Norfolk) I'm just looking for 50-75km at the moment.

Many thanks!

nickyboy

Norven Mankey
Hello all.

I'm returning to Sheffield (where I was a student some years ago) to do some work this week. I'll have my road bike and few mornings when I can sneak off for early sorties.

Could any locals recommend good circular routes out of the city and through the Peaks? I'll be staying in Pitsmoor. Owing to time constraints and general lameness on hills (I'm from Norfolk) I'm just looking for 50-75km at the moment.

Many thanks!

I'm not familiar with Pitsmoor but very familiar with the Peak District. Having found your location on Google Maps there is some great cycling on your doorstep so long as you can come to love the hills. Popular route out of Sheffield is via Rivelin Road. From there you have two good options; one is to take the right to Strines (Mortimer Road) and the other is left to Bamford. After Mortimer Road there are a multitude of small roads to go a bit further north towards Penistone from which you can loop back round towards Sheffield. The other route via Bamford lets you return to Sheffield via Hathersage which would be a short loop or you can go via Bradwell, after which there are loads of small roads back to Sheffield.
Check out Abney on Google Maps, that is a great small road out of Hathersage which links to Bradwell