10 mile TT advice, please.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ianMac

I am fairly new to cycling and my introduction to TTs was a 25 mile TT - hated it. Now I have done 4 10 mile TTs and absolutely loved them. I like the concentrated effort involved.

My question, before I splash out and buy a bike, may be foolish...is there any style or brand of TT bikes that are better for short (10 mile) TTs than longer TTs?

Thanks,

Ian

Smokin Joe

Legendary Member
Not really.

Unless you are riding 12 or 24 hour time trials where you might want a bit of comfort for the length of time in the saddle a TT bike for a ten will be the same as for 100 miles.

palinurus

Velo, boulot, dodo
I can't add any more than that: 12s and 24s are something else but for all other distances the same bike will do you. And it might do you for longer distances too with some tweaking.

Once you've done a few more 10s you might feel like having another crack at a 25.

OP
OP
I

ianMac

Great, thanks. Some more 10s coming up ... then we'll see on the 25s.

Got bike - 2nd hand Planet X Stealth! Great name, great looking bike - now it's up to me!

david k

Hi
whats a good time for a 10 mile tt? ive been for a ride today and completed my fastest 10 mile (during a 16 mile ride) of 34 minutes, i would like to break 30 minutes

palinurus

Velo, boulot, dodo
What kinda time are people at TT's doing the10 mile in? Best/worst?

Depends on the course and conditions very much, you really need to compare against other riders in a given event. In general club cyclists record times between 35 minutes and 21 minutes on my club's (slowish) course, 21 minutes would be very good though. Course record (set by a professional cyclist who was a good time-triallist) was 20 minutes. I've done 23:44, slowest 28:34 in very windy conditions.

UK record for 10 miles is 17:57 I think.

Nosaj