105's vs Tiagra

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

lpjr

Just gathering thoughts on this issue. I finally put a deposit down on my new bike today. One of the decisions I had to make when picking the bike was which derailleur to go for. We all know 105 is better but would a complete novice notice the difference? When in the LBS today having the above two explained to me I realised how out of touch I was with modern racers. I spent a couple of minutes looking for the gear levers, my last racer was a home build Eddie Merckx's, how shocked I was to be shown they were part of the brakes. Weird. My budget put me in at the top of the Tiagra spec bike. I would have had to stump up at least another £150 to get a bike with 105s that I liked.

So going back to the question, being a complete novice would I notice the difference? Would the difference be worth the price hike? The bike is going to be used as a commuter bike.

Fab Foodie

hanging-on in quiet desperation ...
Ooohhh tricky question now that you've spent your dosh... :whistle:

However, Tiagra is a big step over Sora IMO* and Tiagra is a smooth and reliable groupset. What do you get for spending 105 money... well smoother operation and slightly lighter componants. But on a commuter bike that's probably irrelevant as durability and replaceability is important. No point in covering expensive componants with road crap on a daily basis, commuting takes its toll on bike parts. IMO you made the right decision, it'll work faithfully for years.

* Sora's good too for commuting, tough, cheap and reliable, but Tiagra is an improvement in slickness of operation and control layout on the shifters... IMO!

Garz

Squat Member
Reiterating FF's points, Tiagra is great value. 105 is better but only if you can afford the price penalty. The next grade above doesn't necessarily justify itself as the price usually is more than the improvement.

MacB

Lover of things that come in 3's