1748 cal in 94 minutes - Really?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

russ.will

Slimboy Fat
I'm 5' 10", 17.5 Stone (stop sniggering at the back) and with my normal training partner, did 24.5 miles (128ft elevation) in 1:32:30 at an average speed of 15.9mph. This is pretty much par for the course and I go a bit quicker by myself, headwinds and only 3 gears allowing.

LoadIng the data from Strava into MyFitnessPal is telling me that equates to having burned 1748kcal. Really? The same app used to give me about 350-400kcal burn with 25-30 minutes of jogging and I looked (and felt) like I'd nearly killed myself achieving that. I got back from the ride this morning and took the dog out for an hours walk. After jogging I'd have to lie down.

Is something squiffy going on here, because that's almost a days worth of food or a couple of bottles of Bordeux?

Russell

shouldbeinbed

Rollin' along
It sounds a lot but I'm no expert, I'd imagine the best way of losing that many calories that quickly would be to throw up a McDonald's meal :smile:

How do you know you burned that many?
the bollox-o-meter

vickster

Legendary Member
I use the 30 a mile, so that'd be 750. As a big chap if there were hills, maybe 1000. if trying to lose weight, the exercise is a bonus. You should concentrate on taking in fewer calories

Bazzer

Setting the controls for the heart of the sun.
Looks wrong. My Garmin reckons the other day I burned 865 calories on a 32 miler with almost 3500 foot of climbing ride. Average speed14mph I am marginally taller than you but about 7 stone less.
That's not to say my Garmin isn't telling porkies, but if it was under reading by a half, then I should be a bag of bones.

OP
OP
russ.will

russ.will

Slimboy Fat
I have to say I am in the sceptical camp, hence the thread, but I've bunged the same stats 248lb (big chap!), 92mins, 14-16mph into various online calculators and they're all coming up with 1700+.