- Absolute beginner - What "budget" beginner bike would you recommend?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

LeeB.99

Okay so. I'm completely new to the whole world of cycling pretty much. Obviously I have ridden bikes and I can still ride them but it's never been a hobby. Anyway trying to keep this short so I'm not a burden to your eyes but I'm doing a terrible job so far.

So I'm looking to work for deliveroo, if you're unaware of what that is, it's a food delivery service with deliveries that can be carried out on pedal bikes, not just motorbikes. I've done a little research but in all honesty I can't wrap my head around some of the advice given because it's always different depending on circumstances so I was hoping to get some advice tailor fit to me. I'll be riding and delivering around London, meaning busy roads, potholes and possible hills - in my area there are quite a lot. I'm pretty much just looking to see if you guys/girls would recommend any particular bikes based on those circumstances. I've looked around and it seems a "hybrid" bike would be best for me but I don't know what I'm looking for at all. I'm not really in a position to be splashing cash so it's most likely I'm going to be buying a used bike as I'm looking to spend a maximum of £200, that's probably where the issue is going to come into play. If there's not a particular bike that you're able to recommend then just advice in general for what I should be looking for would be greatly appreciated. I'm a 20 year old lad and I'm pretty fit physically but I'm aware cycling requires a different type of fitness, I'm most likely going to be riding for around 6 hours a day at least, so comfort is of somewhat importance although I'm not really too fussed, I'm really just looking for something that can get around quick, but doesn't require any complex technique for someone who's only ridden a "standard" bike before.

Appreciate any help given.

DCLane