Advice for comfortable MTB saddle. OEM saddle is killing my butt cheeks!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

AliShah2020

Hi all,

I really need your help please! I am new to biking. I just bought a really fab MTB. The bike is Lapierre Edge AM 727.
https://www.paulscycles.co.uk/1818/...-mountain-bike-2019-blackyellow.aspx#infospec

The saddle is so damn firm and hard it is absolutely killing my butt cheeks! It is seriously killing me after 50 mins of riding it is so hard. :blink::cry:

Can you please recommend a comfortable saddle? I ride 95% on the road/streets in London and about 5% in the local parks and hills. Comfort is a must for me (but it was look cool too!) . I don't know which saddle is good and if I need to worry about compatibility etc with the bike?

Many thanks for your help and response. :okay:

Heigue'r

Veteran
Have you been cycling another bike befire you bought this or just starting out?

OP
OP
AliShah2020

AliShah2020

Have you been cycling another bike befire you bought this or just starting out?

Hi, this is my first time on a bike in twenty years.

During COVID19 it has been impossible to get any test ride at all as all bike shops are closed so I just took the plunge on bought the bike I liked the look for.

Being on furlough I wanted to make the most of the time with my children and decided to look online and take the plunge. I am sure the seat can be changed? Sadly most shops are closed, not answering emails/phone calls and I am unable to get good advice.

vickster

Legendary Member
Says he’s new to cycling.
What are you wearing while cycling? Any sort of padding?
Charge Spoon is a popular choice but saddles are extremely individual things.
And why does a saddle need to look cool, you’ll be sitting on it? 👍
just let your behind toughen up and then see (unless it’s actually giving you sores, so it might be the wrong width and shape)

OP
OP
AliShah2020

AliShah2020

Says he’s new to cycling.