advice from long distance commuter's please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

welshwheels

Hi all I have been cycling for the past 12 years I have not been commuting since I changed my job in november although I still do 40 /50 mile rides on weekend and do go out in the evenings for a couple of hours twice a week .The catalytic converter on my car decided to fall off yesterday !! this unfortunately for me is a very expensive part and to top it all I am skint . So yhe only option I have is to cycle : do you see me having any problems riding the 40 mile round trip I have all the kit and my bike is a surly cross check any advce will be great. thanks in advance

Kies

I do the same mileage on my commute,but only 3 times a week with Tuesday/Thursday being my rest days (fair weather commuter)
If you plan to do it every day,make sure your bike is suitable and your tyres are for road use.
Something that needs to be built up over time,but you do a lot of base miles so it won't take long.
Any chance of taking public transport (with bike) for part of the journey?
I used to leave my bike at my parents house when i first started .... Took 6 miles of my 22 each way

Supersuperleeds

Legendary Member
I'm forty and a couple of stone overweight and I do it five days a week on my hybrid. I do have an escape though as I only work 5 miles away! I am also lucky that I have a shower at work.
I've no idea what a Surly Cross Check is, but I would be tempted to put Marathon pluses on it, getting a puncture on a commute is a right royal pain in the arse. Plenty of sleep and a cup of tea before you set off and you will be fine.

You may find that you won't be doing the long weekend rides, but you will be getting 200 miles a week in commuting

Maz

Guru
Bad luck about the catalytic converter.
Very unfortunate chap at work had his catalytic converter stolen from his car...cut off with an angle-grinder. Twice. In the space of a week.

Good morning