Advice needed re quick link

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Johnsco

Old Fettler
I'm considering buying quicklinks to use with my 1/2 inch x 3/32 inch derailleur chain on my Carlton.
I've never used them before and have just re-rivited chains as required.
I seem to remember from my younger days (like the 1960s) that someone told me that you couldn't use quicklinks with DR chains.
Looking around, I see various QLs on offer .... for 10-speed, 12-speed, etc chains.
I'm using a double chainwheel set with a 5 sprocket freewheel (non-indexed)
I guess this must be 10-speed.
Is mine a 10-speed chain ?
I'm asking for a recommendation which QL to buy for my chain.
Thanks.

Last edited:

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
I guess this must be 10-speed.
Is mine a 10-speed chain ?
Nope! It goes on the number of sprockets, so yours is a '5-speed'.

The fact that you can get prime-number-speed quicklinks such as 11-speed is a bit of a giveaway! :okay:

Sharky

Guru
If you have the skill to re rivet a 3/32nd chain, I would carry on as you are. I've been doing that all my life with up to 9 speed chains. Did try with a 10 speed chain, but the join did not last so use ql's now fot 10 speeds.

accountantpete

Brexiteer
BTW - you are supposed to be able to take them apart by hand but there is an art in this and I could never master it especially on a new quicklink with tight fitting. Most people I know use the special pliers which both join and separate. You only need a cheap pair as little force is needed and they are not going to wear out.

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
The pliers are a good addition for not much money. Saves messy fingers.

OP you need an 8 speed quick link. 9,10 11, and 12 all need corresponding quick links. I have 8, 9 and 10 speed quick links in my 'in pocket' tool kit.

OP
OP
Johnsco

Johnsco

Old Fettler
Thanks guys for all those helpful replies.
1. I now understand it.