Advice on alu vs carbon wheelsets

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

RoubaixCube

~Tribanese~
Not sure if this is the correct place to post this but i spent part of the night looking at wheelsets after coming across an article on roadcc

I have sort of narrowed down the options to three (or maybe four) different wheelsets if i was to get something but at the same time i am very curious about one of them which i am very unsure about as im not experienced at all with carbon wheels apart from knowing that they come with more expensive bikes and can cost a lot of money....

Wheelsets:

Fulcrum Racing Zero C17

Fulcrum Racing 5 C17

Fulcrum Racing Quattro (older wheelset)

Prime RR-50 V3

---

So my curiosity comes with the RR-50 V3, Its a carbon wheelset and its pretty cheap too as far as carbon wheels go but their weight is around the same as a lot of alu wheels.

My understanding is that good carbon wheels are supposed to be lighter so take less power/energy to get rolling and keep rolling.

But if the carbon wheels are the same weight as the alu wheels then what benefit does the carbon wheels give apart from possibly being more aero/faster in a straight line due to rim profile?

I apologise if this is a silly question but ive never really looked at wheels really indepth.

Last edited:

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Basically the aero profile ! Also look at Mavic Cosmics - Merlin have these on for £399.

DCLane

Found in the Yorkshire hills ...
You've got quite a range there - Fulcrum 5 to Zero is a price jump. Budget carbon wheels are often heavier than their aluminium counterparts. Also, as always, you're paying for a brand.

We've run either Fulcrum 5's or Superstar Components wheels as winter / general use wheels for several years and they're reliable, although my son did use a set of their 30mm Ultra wheels in his national championships once.