advice on perfect bike: single speed or gears

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

tombolaprize

I have been cycling on my ridgeback whatever for a couple of years now, and now it feels too slow and clunky. I am ready to upgrade to something lighter and faster as I move to a longer commute - Hackney to South Kensington (8.5 miles).

Single speed is very alluring and I had a great whizz round the block to test one out. Yes! This is the bike for me!! I felt like Beryl Burton.

But - can anyone advise about hills as I will be up Margery Street/Pentonville Road every day. Can single speed do it?

And - drop handlebars for commuting? Yes, or no?

Any (non-technical) advice much appreciated.

kushtrim

I don't have a single speed but I never change by gears on my bike, which arguably is worst of both worlds, but iv found it very easy to ride. The hill up Pentonville road is quite steep but you can quite easily avoid using this road by taking a more central route.

Also you bike will be a fair bit lighter if you have a single speed which will make a bit of a difference

Drop handlebars if your going down long straight roads as you will build up quiet a lot of speed

mootaineer

tombolaprize said:
But - can anyone advise about hills as I will be up Margery Street/Pentonville Road every day. Can single speed do it?

And - drop handlebars for commuting? Yes, or no?

Well I don't know what the hill up Margery Street/Pentonville Road is like.
I use my singlespeeds (68in and 70in) to commute...and cycle up from St Johns Wood up to Whitestone Pond on the way home.

I've also taken the 68in'er up Ventoux (although never again) so most things will be possible.

I use drop bars now but I used to ride MTBs so I suppose it's just personal preference.

Additionally, if you do get a SS (or fixed) I'd highly recommend getting a chaintug (I've got 2 Surly chaintugs - 1 each for my bikes).