Advice on what to wear - practicalities of a newbie commuter

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Hotchilidamo

Right, so my bike is on order (finally!).

Next up is working out what the hell I'm doing. I've had differing advice from friends ranging from cycle in normal work clothes and don't worry about proper cycling gear to get all the cycling gear, take work clothes in your backpack

So, my commute is approx 8 miles and although I'm not new to cycling, I'm new to commuting. I have no shower at work, and am already going to be carrying lunch and laptop in a backpack so not overly keen on panniers or adding more weight. My typical work clothes are quite relaxed so jeans, shirt etc.

If you cycle in shorts/tights, do you then take your work clothes in a bag? or do you have some other arrangement. If I don't use shorts/tights surely I'm going to get a sore nether region.

My main concern is that if it all becomes too much hassle I'll not enjoy the whole thing and my enthusiasm will diminish

As you can tell I'm a bit confused. Any advice would be great

wilkotom

... I have no shower at work, and am already going to be carrying lunch and laptop in a backpack so not overly keen on panniers or adding more weight. My typical work clothes are quite relaxed so jeans, shirt etc.

If you cycle in shorts/tights, do you then take your work clothes in a bag?

I take my clothes, laptop, etc in a convertible pannier /rucksack combo (Vaude Cycle 28). For 12 miles each way I found that pannier vs rucksack made a big difference to comfort.

Last edited:

MikeW-71

Veteran
I commute 4.5 miles and I will use shorts/tights. I could probably get away with riding in jeans, but it would get uncomfortable and if it rained, then it's very unpleasant. 8 miles in jeans might not be pretty.