Advice please on picking a £1k road bike

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

RSV_Ecosse

Hi,

I know you guys must have seen a million threads like this, but I am a complete newbie to road cycling and I'm looking for advice.

My employer recently signed up to "Cyclescheme" and I intend to grab myself a good road bike through it.

It will be mostly used for a commute a few times a week as well as some long runs in my spare time.

I'm looking at around the £1k mark to spend.

Having spoken to a guy on another shift at work who is seriously into road cycling, I took his advice on a few models to look at.

Unfortunately, the three I sort of had "shortlisted" are not available through the partner shops listed under our Cyclescheme. They were:-
  • Focus Cayo 2008
  • Dolan Mythos
  • Planet-X Carbon
Bit of a pain, Wiggle have the Focus tied up pretty tight and they are not part of the scheme my employer has signed up to. And I really, really had my heart set on a Cayo.

I did hear that Halfords can source you pretty much anything, but after browsing a few bike forums, it seems this is not now the case. Perhaps something to do with them pushing their own @£1k road bike, the Carrera Virago Carbon?. I dunno.....can anyone confirm that Halfords will not source a Cayo for customers?.

Anyhow, I'm now looking at three bikes at the £1k mark and would appreciate some comments on them.
  • Pinarello FP1 2008
  • Bianchi 1885 Hydro Carbon Veloce B4P
  • Ducati by Bianchi Factory Alu Carbon Mirage
All appear to be stonking value for money, especially the Pinarello. The 1885 always gets good write ups and the Ducati?.....Well, perhaps you are paying more for the name on the frame?. Being the owner of an Aprilia RSV 1000 Superbike, I have a soft spot for all things "two wheeled" and "Italian"....lol.

Any advice appreciated. :evil:

LLB