Advice please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hello everyone.

Right I am new to cycling and looking to lose a bit of timber and improve my strength and fitness.

Looking for a second hand bike and got about 150-160 to spend.

What recommendations would you all suggest.
I've looked at carrera, raleigh 100 and similar bikes. But never know what to do foe the best.

Cheers

Doobiesis

Über Member
Depends what type of cycling you're doing. Mountain biking or road. Or a hybrid?

Second hand bikes are what you're gonna get with your budget. But don't forget Helmet, gloves and a waterproof jacket.

CanucksTraveller

Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Shifting timber takes many hours per week on a bike, I've previously lost 2 stone through fast walking and diet but cycling is such an efficient form of transport that on its own, it's actually quite hard to use cycling for weight loss.
The crux of what I'm saying is that whatever bike you get, make it one that you really really like and which you'll ride for riding's sake, that's the best possible bike for you. That's the bike you'll spend the most hours on.

As @Doobiesis says, first choice is probably what kind of riding you want to do.

gbb

Legendary Member
The old Raleigh Airlites were fine, because you've mentioned that one specifically, is there one you have your eye on ?
8 speed will be better that 7, 8 speed will have STI shifters on the handlebars rather than down tube shifters on the 7 speed...i never particularly liked them.

Cycleops

Legendary Member
If you're looking for a second hand bike you need to beware. Unless you know what to look for it might end up costing more than going new. @biggs682 of this parish usually has a few classic bikes on offer and all are checked. Otherwise keep an eye for one in the classifieds. What is your height and inseam? You need to get the correct size.