Advice sought - Have you heard of the Exmoor Beast?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Nasawing

Hello all!

I'm a bit new to the world of 'serious' cycling - but I'm getting something of a baptism of fire. For starters, there are so many forums! Which are the good 'uns (or ones to avoid?) I'm here coz I liked the tone of those threads I've read so far. Anyway, what I'm looking for is some views and advice on The Exmoor Beast - www.exmoorbeast.org . My friend's participating and has suggested I come along too. I'm fit and up for a 'proper' challenge and a step up into the world of Big Boys (and Girls) sportives. Anyone on here done it before or is planning to this year? Any observations or advice for a relative tender-foot like moi?

NaSa. W

Baggy

Cake connoisseur
Hello Nasawing! Haven't ridden this before, but know someone who rode last year...they're used to the hills in Devon, but due to appalling weather conditions they opted to ride the 100k on the day instead of the 100 miles. He described it as "challenging" but got round ok.

The FAQs are helpful - Exmoor's weather conditions can change quickly and can make for hard going, and the roads can be a bit dodgy (slippery/gravelly) when it's raining. It's bleak in bad weather and has some pretty pointy climbs! My main question would be...how comfortable are you going up long climbs and coming back down them again...and again...and again!?

Lance Substrong

Welcome to the insanity of sportive riding Naswing; it doesn't get much nuttier than The Beast which is, at the same time, massively rewarding. lf, as you describe yourself, you are a "relative tender-foot" who is "fit and up for a 'proper' challenge", this is my advice:-
  1. Enter the full distance, but be prepared to accept being directed onto the shorter route, if you fail to meet the first control cut-off time or need the bail-out option where the routes split