Advice to a complete beginner

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

jay clock

Massive member
My sister in law (55) announced she is buying a bike from Halfords. Deal is done, so no comments there. It actually looks fine for what she wants. Apollo hybrid (non sus luckily), 18 speed gears.(so no replies saying she should have bought steel......) Idea is short local rides on tarmac. Nervous about busy roads..Doing it for general fitness not to do any events.

I suspect that 2-3 miles will be her starting point. And I might be wrong but suspect that 10 miles will be her maximum unless she really falls in love with it. Fire away for any comments on how to build up the distance and general newbie tips. Once we have a few I will send her the link and let her soak up your pearls of wisdom

MikeG

Guru
There is no way of building the distance other than building the distance. The first few weeks of riding will feel difficult and unrewarding, and her bum will hurt. Little and often is the advice. Little and often. Get through that, and at 55 the world is her oyster. 55 year olds can set world records. Age is not an issue.

rugby bloke

Veteran
I think you have already summed it up - short local rides on tarmac, avoid busy roads, take it easy and build up the mileage. Look for relatively flat routes, canal tow paths, old railway lines etc are a great starting point. Hills tend to take away the fun until fitness improves. Remember to have fun. Why would 10 miles be her maximum ? Don't start off with limits on her abilities, just roll with it and see how it develops over the months.

If you are cycling with her I would advise you to cycle little behind and out into the road, to persuade out 4 wheeled friends to give you a wide pass.

Gravity Aided

Legendary Member