All Weather Commuting Bike

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BrumJim

Forum Stalwart (won't take the hint and leave...)
My current commuting bike is in the workshop having a couple of issues looked at. However it is getting rather tired and worn, and thinking about an upgrade. Please look at the spec below and make some suggestions. The thoughts must meet the spec. I have been commuting daily for over 10 years now, and I know what I want out of my bike, so please don't try and change my perspective.
1) Full mudguards. I will ride through deep puddles and in all weathers, even the heaviest downpours (if going home). I don't want a stripe up my back.
2) Rack. I will stop off for shopping, and sometimes will be putting quite a bit of weight on the bike. I have some bungee cords that I use at the moment, but hopefully will get a full set of paniers soon.
3) Hydraulic discs. Would love to be able to stop when I want, not when the bike wants to.
4) 700 wheels, but capable of taking 32 tyres. Mainly for comfort, but mostly as I have some studded tyres for snow and ice, and they will need to fit.
5) Groupset that can take the abuse of dirt, salt, and gravel, and not flinch. I'm a bit flexible here. I currently have a Shimano Alfine hub with 8 gears that is fine, but happy to consider anything that is built for robustness rather than weight.

I am currently running a drop-bared touring set-up (Ridgeback Journey, if you want to know more), but am now willing to consider other options.

Budget? Well, it isn't going to be loved, so no point spending too much, but how about £1,500?

Slick

Guru
1500 is quite a substantial budget for what you require and would open up loads of choice. I would offer up an excellent suggestion of a steel framed Genesis Equilibrium or very similar as it has everything on hour list and obviously is what I use for all year round commuting.

NotAsGoodAsMyBike