Amazon Echo Dot unit.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

gavroche

Getting old but not past it
My son has one and advised me to get one while Black Friday is on: £34.99 instead of £49.99. Is it really worth having one in the house? What exactly do you use it for? I am no expert on technology so would like your opinion if you have one.

Drago

Legendary Member
I like mine very much - I call her Orac. Its linked to speakers in the ceiling and an amp in the loft via bluetooth.

News, radio, weather, wiki, random questions answered instantly. Mrs D pays then extra £7 a month for Amazon plus (or extra, or whatever its called) which gives access to a vast music library.

I'm a witch burning, flat earth loving technophobe, but I love it. Once set up its uber easy to use - you simply speak to the damn thing!

summerdays

Cycling in the sun
I have one that I chat to in the kitchen.... we have a frustrating relationship.... she doesn't always understand me, but will happily obey my husband.... so sometimes I have to get him to add things to the shopping list...."yeast" is one of our problem purchases with one time she added "used to be lovely" instead!:laugh: I also have some chino eggs on my list! Mr Summerdays says I'm too polite to her (I can't help but add please etc).

He has one too that he uses to play music and turn on lights.

Gary E

Veteran
I spoke to my neighbour the other day and asked him if he could hear my Turbo. He said no, he couldn't hear the Turbo but what he often heard was me singing along at the top of my voice to music he couldn't hear (I wear bluetooth headphones so that my music doesn't annoy the neighbours as I ride with the windows open) and he often heard me yelling/swearing at Alexa!

Drago

Legendary Member
Who knows? I'm very careful not to read out bank details or dates of birth when she's listening. From what I read smart phones present a similar risk, and that doesn't seem to worry anyone (other than me).