Another bottom bracket removal problem

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Bman

Guru
Went into the LBS today and asked about my crankshaft as it has lots of movement or "wobble"? I have previously done all repairs and maintenance on my bikes myself. But Im not a mechanic and have never messed around with cranks or shafts before. So I'm a little out of my depth but would still like to do it myself. I'm only just getting to grips with the terminology! :becool:

After looking at the bike and weighing up options, he sold me the crank arm removal tool and some new bearings. The tool will be useful in future even if the bearings dont fix the problem. The bearings were very cheap anyway.

Managed to get the cranks off fine, just as he explained. however trying to get into the crank shaft itself in order to change the bearings seems impossible.

The setup is almost identical to this diagram (I hope parktool.com wont mind me hotlinking :girl:) :
adj_bb.jpg

I have no idea what is between the cups and within the "shell" but I can only assume it is very similar to this diagram.

Ive managed to remove the Lockring, but neither of the cups want to move at all and I dont want to damage the part where the tool grips the cup. I can see the thread on the cup so know which way to turn, but my spanners dont grip enough of the metal to get it to turn.

Is there a better tool (other than an ordinary spanner) that Im supposed to use to remove the cups?

tyred

Legendary Member
Are your cups the type which take an ordinary open ended spanner (11/16" I think or is that only on Raleighs?) or does it have a serious of pin holes for a pin spanner? Unless you are replacing the cups, you shouldn't need to remove the fixed cup. The diagram is pretty accurate as to what you'd find inside. The bearings may or may not be in a retaining ring.

If you're using an ordinary open end spanner, can you use the crank in some way to clamp it in place so it doesn't slip off?