Any mortgage officinardos ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Levo-Lon

Guru
We are looking at a move...maybe, after yesterday's experience maybe not:rolleyes:
I've had this house since 93 and remortgage was in 08 for major extension.
What I was wondering was do you take your mortgage with you or does it have to end then re apply.

We're not spending more,it will be same or less borrowed ,we only have 24k mortgage and this will be just 5k in a few MTHS.
I intend to keep a small mortgage for ease of credit ect plus we can use equity with our Barclays account., So no point stopping that.

We have an old tracker which is .5% above base rate ,these done exist anymore.

So for clarity, we sell for 250k buy house for £250k mortgage has 11 yrs to run unless cleared.

Obviously need to ask Bank but just wondering if anyone knows the legal side pit falls ect.

I don't like change:laugh:

Last edited:

Adam4868

Guru
Im no expert on this ! But weve done similar before.I think moving the same morgage is called "porting" it.Im guessing the pros and cons are the morgage rate,is there a penalty for your morgage,i.e early repayment charge,less hassle keeping the same one with paperwork etc,fees.

OP
OP
Levo-Lon

Levo-Lon

Guru
Im no expert on this ! But weve done similar before.I think moving the same morgage is called "porting" it.Im guessing the pros and cons are the morgage rate,is there a penalty for your morgage,i.e early repayment charge,less hassle keeping the same one with paperwork etc,fees.

Hi Adam
No our mortgage can be paid in full anytime, without penalty.
If it can be simply "ported" that would be excellent,as a new mortgage will be a lot dearer with new rates. Very cheap

Ours is a old tracker which you can't get now, .5 above Bank of England base rate

Buck

Guru