Any pension advisers on line

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

busdennis

Veteran
At the age of 47 iv'e just found out i signed out of SERPE when i was 18 to a Liverpool Victoria sales man who used to collect from my old mother when i was 17. i cannot remember doing this and mother never forwarded on the LV statements, i left home at 18 and have paid into the NHS pension for the last 20 years.
is my SERPS in safe hand?, was this the right thing to do at the time or was i miss sold??

yours
worried man

PeteXXX

Cake or ice cream? The choice is endless ...
I don’t think you’re old enough to use the Gov Pensionwise service, so I would think a quick consultation with a certified advisor would be your best bet.

twentysix by twentyfive

Clinging on tightly
I contracted out of SERPS. I'm no expert but I think that meant a bit more went into my workplace pension (I could be mistaken on that). But I think that's why I don't qualify for the full state pension (I could be mistaken on that too).

Cycleops

Legendary Member
I also contracted out of SERPS, in 1976. At that time the government was keen for the burden to be taken off the state for pensions so they offered an additional payment incentve if you opted out. Mine was through Allied Dunbar which was merged into Zurich.
I see LV are still going so give them your details and if you've paid in I'm sure they will find your policy. You will have to prove who you are and provide the name of their man who collected your contributions.
You couldv find its grown into a sizable pension pot so pleasant surprise might be in store!
You should still get the full state pension at retirement.

Good luck.

Last edited:

stephec

Legendary Member