Any special advice for first use of a mtb..?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

dac

Hi,
I have just purchased a BeOne Spirit Sport (22.5" frame, 26 " wheels) mountain bike. It is due to be delivered shortly.
I am a newbie to the biking world and haven't rode a bike for 15 years. I was aiming for a hybrid but getting this bike for £270 I thought was a very good deal - do you agree?
1) With the components/spec detailed is there anything special I need to bear in mind?
2) It doesn't come with pedals so can anyone recommend a set of pedals (cheap as I don't need anything special) that will fit this bike? (i.e. not sure if different bikes require different sized pedals).
3) Is there any special consideration I need when putting this bike together? I haven't put a bike together before but I'm sure I can manage it?
4) Can anyone suggest some hybrid tyres that will fit these rims? I will be going across bumpy grass-lands but alot will be on the road too, or will the tyres that come with this bike be fine for road use?

Thank you.

vickster

Legendary Member
In no particular order

Ride it and see how you get on with the tyres

Where's it being delivered from? If you have little experience of bikes, get a bike shop to check it all over. There's a cautionary thread running about someone who put a bike together out of the box and came a very big and costly cropper. Although it's not entirely clear what happened as the poster hasn't returned

https://www.cyclechat.net/threads/halfords-bike-hell-advice-please.177775/

Flat pedals fine, wellgo are good, about a tenner probably for a simple metal pedal (watch out for your shins though)

Don't fall off, don't ride in the dark without lights, ride defensively on the roads and remember pedestrians have priority on shared paths etc :smile:

Enjoy it :smile:

Cyclist33

its all relative, it rather depends on the size. of the buyer rider.