Any thoughts on the On-One Steel 456 EVO?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Zenroad

I'm new to On-One. Just started researching their frames. The steel 456 EVO looks like what I'm after. I've read that the bottom bracket is a bit lower than average. True? How much lower? I've read that the seat tube is welded to--not piercing--the top tube. Any issues with this? What about the DN6 double butted 4130 frame material? I'm not familiar with it. "Tough as hell," as they claim? Durable? Anyone out there doing long treks on this frame? Anyone riding it on road?
Thank you!

Cubist

Still wavin'
The claim is that the On One is a bike for ragging about. British trail riding is a sort of genre in its own right, think Whistler rather than day-long epics, technical descents over loose rocky terrain, little respite and short sharp climbs. 456 bikes are so named because they have a geometry which supposedly compliments a 4,5 or 6 inch travel fork, but the Evo is designed more towards the longer travel, so think 6 inch or 160mm travel, with a hugely slack head angle, probably around the 66% mark, which an XC rider would think was like a wheelbarrow. They are ideal for those plunging descents, but the pay-off in having a slack head angle is that it's a pig to climb, unless the bottom bracket is lowered and the seat angle steepened. That's what On One say they have done here, made a slack headed bike with a climbing capability. Many riders choose an adjustable travel fork, like a Talas 100-140, or 130-150, so they can set the travel to low for climbing.

The 456 is bombproof. The steel frames are chromoly steel, which are designed to be robust, not racy. I know a couple of On One riders, one of whom had a Carbon 456, but found it a bit of a dog's breakfast, creaky, and not the best build quality. He swapped it for a Ti frame in the end and is much happier. He runs it with a 140 (5") fork.