Anyone a mature student ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

pepecat

I'm another one - 35 now and 4 years through a 6 year part time PhD. Sometimes I wonder why i'm doing it.....

I tihnk most mature students do have a better attitude towards learning as they really want to be at uni and know what they're giving up (job / money) to be there. For them it's not just something you do at 18 cos it's 'expected' or all your friends are going and you might not necessarily know what you want to do in the long run.

mightyquin

Wow, I'm currently having similar thoughts myself. I'm bored with the day job, though it pays well and I've been doing the same kind of work now for 20 yrs.

I'm torn between becoming a mature student doing an art/photography/media related course, or selling my home to buy a business instead. I'm hesitating because I'm wondering if its just a mid life crisis, but I thought that when I decided to buy a single speed bike and I'm loving that!

Life really is too short to be unhappy with what you're doing, and I've been thinking of some of the things I wanted to do in the past but put off, some of which I'll never have the chance to do again.

funnymummy

A Dizzy M.A.B.I.L
I had #3 when I was 32 I knew then that i didn't want to stay in my profession, but had no idea what I wanted to do, I enrolled in a couple of evening classes, It & Digital graphics, more really for something to keep my brain occupied. I then decided that I could redo my old O levels, just to 'refresh' my memory & stop me drowning in babytalk & nappies!
#3 came along a week after my 34 birthday, I started helpling out at a local playgroup & went bcak to college to study childcare & early years develpment, then did a couple of NVQ's...it just spirralled
Before I knew it I was training to be a teacher - anyone who knew me at school will know what a ridiculous notion this was :biggrin: