Anyone a mature student ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

skudupnorth

Cycling Skoda lover
At the moment i am in the early stages of binning a job i have no interest in anymore to go to college and learn a totally new career.I am very exited about doing something i could not afford to do when i was younger but also scared $hitle$$ about how me and my family are going to cope with proberly a drop in income (although there are many,many things i am sure i can claim for).
Bottom line...anyone else done the same thing of stuff it and take the risk to improve lifestyle/future job prospects ????

I graduate next week. Visit the student union (make an appointment to see an advisor) and find out if there is anything you can claim for but I'm solo so I only have to think about self. Also at 35 I wasn't the oldest on my MSc, there seems to be plenty of mature students these days.

cookiemonster

Legendary Member
I'm a mature student and will be moving to London to continue my studies.

Best thing I ever did. Get in now before the fees rocket mind you. Contact Student Finance England for grant and loans and you will get the full whack, although your OH finances will be taken into account I think. If not, you will get about 6 grand per year.

There will be a small drop in income as you cannot work FT but, the grants and loans will make up for most of that, it will not be for long and it will be worth it in the end. I can't wait to go back after a year out (back op).

I hope this helps and good luck.

ttcycle

Cycling Excusiast
Yes, me too I left a job in what I thought I wanted to do last year. Got some stuff to sort with the health currently but looking at doing a course in the career change (though word from peers in the industry is that may not really be necessary).

My reasoning was: financial stability is nice but it's not what makes you satisfied.
I didn't want to live my life always thinking what if?