Anyone know anything about shock absorbers for a car?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BigonaBianchi

Yes I can, Yes I am, Yes I did...Repeat.
..I need help ...(yes we know)....but..

Look my L Reg beamer is makeing some cruddy noises in the suspension department and feels unstable to drive. I had a garage look a tit and they said it needs new shocks all round. Hmm...and it so happens that four new shocks will probably set me back what the car is worth...anyway...I suspect they are trying to sell be front shocks when rear only will do. How can I be sure?

I cant go poking around underthe wheel arches because I have no idea what a shock absorber even looks like...should I jus tbounce the car or something??

Mortiroloboy

I'm no mechanic, but I believe that help to reduce road vibration/shock, whereas the springs help the car stay on the road.:biggrin:

dudi

bounce each corner up and down... you'll need to push very hard.

The car should stop vouncing before the 2nd bounce finishes after you let go.

If not, the shock needs replacing.

Do each corner and you'll find out which ones need doing. You'll also be able to figure out if the rear ones are worse than the front as they'll bounce longer.

At least that's what I did with my MG

Gerry Attrick

Lincolnshire Mountain Rescue Consultant
Bouncing the car is simplistic but may give you an idea. Bounce the front or rear hard several times then release it. If the car keeps bouncing it is a sure sign the shocks are clapped. The problem is that if it does not continue to bounce, it does not mean they are ok. They could be leaking oil for instance, or the rubber bushes may be shot.

If you are not sure, ask the opinion of a second garage.

Smokin Joe

Legendary Member