Anyone own or owned a Volvo C30 T5?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

GrumpyGregry

Here for rides.
Circumstances may mean I have to take advantage of the Chancellors intent to spend £1.3bn to abolish road congestion (yeah right) and buy a car. I was thinking Focus ST to free my inner yob, but a friend raves about his C30 T5 with something called the R-Design pack.

Budget would be around five grand.

Anyone?

Same question asked on THIS ST forum, so may well be Ford biased but probably worth a look.

I've no experience of either TBH but they can't really be all that different, (to the average driver anyway), as they basically share technology, engines and chassis components, but FWIW and IMHO the @rse of the Volvo is seriously FUGLY xx(

OP
OP
GrumpyGregry

GrumpyGregry

Here for rides.
You'd buy a high performance turbo hatch for five G? That's getting down towards used hand grenade territory. I'd either up the budget or look at something else.
I take the point, and others have made similar in the past yet I've only got burned once in about 20 cars. You just have to be very selective about which frog you kiss.

Simon1234

Über Member
I had a D3 R-Design until recently. Lovely car. Most comfortable car that I have owned, and a very easy drive. Very different to the Focus on which it was based (Volvos being typically over assisted and soft), although same quick and direct steering. Not the stiffest body shell, and rattled a bit when cold. Mine was very reliable (60 plate). I had 16" wheels and was fine, although 17"'s are not much harsher apparently. Go for one with the High Performance sound system if possible, as they are supposed to be amazing (standard stereo is very poor - I had to upgrade speakers in the first month). volvoforums.org.uk is a good and friendly site. A T5 would be fantastic though (the D3 was a straight 5 as well) if speed is your thing!

Salar

A fish out of water
Yes,