Apps or Data Computer?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Kwacka

Über Member
I am really new to road riding and wondered which of the above is best?

I am currently using an app called Cycle Watch which I start when I leave but twice now it has failed to log the information, yesterday was particularly annoying as I broke the 20 mile mark for the second time and was looking forward to comparing the data.

Sittingduck

Legendary Member
I have an iPhone but don't use apps for cycling. Battery drains and I don't fancy mounting it to my bars just incase it comes off. Cheapo cycle computer or ideally a GPS unit are winners, for me.

Somebody else will be along shortly to poo-poo my theory and big up Endomondo or something :whistle:

MattHB

Proud Daddy
As I'm always going to carry my iPhone anyway, I bought a wahoo kit for it so it'll talk to all the ant+ sensors. Cyclemeter is really second to none IMO. For the long rides without tHe need for gps I just stick it into airplane mode which turns it into a computer. I'll get 7hrs out of it that way. For days with gps ill just turn off wifi and I can get 4ish hours if I lock the screen and use it to check direction occasionally. You can also get an aux battery for the wahoo kit that gives about an extra 5 hours.

I didn't see the point in a proper computer when I would have the phone anyway.

heppy

Regular
I use both, iPhone with Cyclemeter in my jersey/gilet pocket and cycle computer on the bike. Cyclemeter gives great ride info and the computer gives instant data such as speed, distance etc.

Have considered mounting the iPhone to the bike but haven't found a decent attachment yet....

MattHB

Proud Daddy
I use both, iPhone with Cyclemeter in my jersey/gilet pocket and cycle computer on the bike. Cyclemeter gives great ride info and the computer gives instant data such as speed, distance etc.

Have considered mounting the iPhone to the bike but haven't found a decent attachment yet....