arm muscles

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Jane Smart

The Queen
Hi

another of my silly questions, but I have cycled 130 miles in 9 days and I am new to cycling. Not been on a bike for 34 years.

anyway, I am sure I notice my arms toning up? Is that possible?

I hang onto the handle bars for grim death though, but what is the opinion? Do arms get a work out too?

:blush:

Would love to know if anyone else has noticed this?

Tynan

Veteran
yes, all over and as you lose fat the regular muscles that were there all long show through

no reason to be hanging on to the bars like that though, ponder your sadlle height and position

Auntie Helen

Ich bin Powerfrau!
My right arm muscles have got a lot stronger from carting my trike around, lifting it on and off trains, dragging it behind me when I have to walk, etc. Not sure if you do any lifting/carrying of your bike but that might account for a little muscle development.

Joe24

More serious cyclist than Bonj
I found my arm mucles werent so good when i was riding geared, but built up abit after riding fixed for a while.
They did build up more when i was in the gym though, but sadly my free gym membership went out so now thats it, they are going smaller again, but not much smaller!:blush:
My forearms are still pretty good though from braking, and my shoulders are decent aswell. My arms are pretty weedy though compared to some other peoples arms.
I look well weird in the shadow, big legs and skinny arms:wacko::biggrin:

Fab Foodie

hanging-on in quiet desperation ...
Look at the pro-riders, all's good except their arms which are generally scrawney looking.