Average ascent per mile

What is your average climb ratio

• Total voters
Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
a typical flat ride around here (Cheshire) covers 1,614 feet in 52.5 miles (that was my last ride, rigged for distant not height)
my last mtb ride was 14.5 miles & 2,228 feet of climbing - derbyshire area (154 feet per mile)

for the rides I have recorded the height for, I seem to average around 45 feet per mile which probably explains why I am not very good at climbing hills anymore!

nickyboy

Norven Mankey
a typical flat ride around here (Cheshire) covers 1,614 feet in 52.5 miles (that was my last ride, rigged for distant not height)
my last mtb ride was 14.5 miles & 2,228 feet of climbing - derbyshire area (154 feet per mile)

for the rides I have recorded the height for, I seem to average around 45 feet per mile which probably explains why I am not very good at climbing hills anymore!

aaah, what a dream that would be!
Standard issue around here is about 100ft/mile. As you can see from the veloviewer signature I'm at 91ft/mile this year as I've had a couple of cheeky Cheshire runs while the weather was particularly bad.
I am still rubbish at climbing hills mind you, I just get to be rubbish more than most

aaah, what a dream that would be!
Standard issue around here is about 100ft/mile. As you can see from the veloviewer signature I'm at 91ft/mile this year as I've had a couple of cheeky Cheshire runs while the weather was particularly bad.
I am still rubbish at climbing hills mind you, I just get to be rubbish more than most
gets rather boring to be honest. I hate short sharp inclines, much rather have a decent mountian and several thousand feet decent and a good view! much more fun than these short buggers that take it out of you in your granny gear and leave you feeling like you have only climbed a few feet (usually only 60-70 feet) with no view to show for it!

Shut Up Legs

Down Under Member