Back Pain : Anyone here use wedges on their cleats/shoes?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

RSV_Ecosse

Hi,

Way back in 1990, I had a serious motorcycle accident which resulted in my almost loosing my life. Had my spleen removed and shattered my lower right femur into a thousand tiny bits, the fractures ran into my knee joint.

The docs had to take a bone graft from my hip in order to rebuild the lower femur and knee joint. I was off work for almost 12 months in recovery.

Anyway, I had a load of meccano fitted in the leg to hold it all in place, which a few years later was removed. Everything back to normal now and it doesn't affect me at all in any aspect of my life or work ( I'm a firefighter - 19 years service ).

However, they did warn me that as a result of the rebuild work on my femur and knee joint, my right leg was @1-2cm shorter than my left leg was. It was recommended I use a small heelraise inside my footwear to attempt to offset any future back/hip alignment and posture problems.

Since starting cycling, this has always been at the back of my mind.

I use Ultegra SPD-SL pedals and Shimano R099 shoes.

I've been getting lower back pain after rides and it seems to manifest on only one side of my lower back/lumbar region. Sometimes its on the left side, other times its on the right side. Not a sharp pain, more of an "ache".

I did some looking around online and found that I could be compensating for the imbalance in leg length by lowering my bum cheek on the saddle and dropping it to one side, even by a tiny almost unnoticeable amount.

Had a look around and found these BFS Wedges available.

Does anyone use these or indeed, can anyone offer any practical advice on my situation?.