BBC2: Trust me, I'm a Doctor - did anybody watch this?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

PK99

Legendary Member
Well said!
100 years ago obesity was not a problem (and still is not a problem in most of the world).
Then we started eating more fat, more sugar and more processed junk food and sitting around on our arses all day at work and in front of the TV all evening.
Does not take a genius to join the dots.

The Calories programme made me cringe when it had one family standing in a gym repeatedly picking up a heavy weight and getting chased up and down steps. People get the idea that this is what they need to do to burn some calories rather than a pleasant cycle or walking to work.

The programme very clearly made the point at the family who spent the morning cleaning the house burned more fat than the family who went to the gym and said explicitly that steady exercise / active life style is the best option

PK99

Legendary Member
T
BTW
Me on ordinary diet: "Oh god I can never have cake again. Oh god. Oh god" *succumbs, eats cake, fails to lose weight*

Me on 5:2: "Oh god I can't have cake. Never mind, will have some tomorrow" *does not eat cake that day, eats less cake in general as a result, loses weight and keeps it off*

exactly my experience. and that of a number of folks i have pointed to the diet

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next
Natural as in not full of synthetic gloop
Margarine need only be oil, water, salt and carrot (because too-white spread freaks some people out AIUI). None of that's synthetic.

Manufacturers can just as easily add some junk to butter if they are so minded - I didn't find the current list of additives they can use and still call it "butter" but I'm sure some synthetics were on the list when I last looked.

OP
OP
Globalti

Globalti

Legendary Member