Beginner Buying a Second Hand Bike - Help!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

DAX10

Regular
Hi there,

I'm a beginner cyclist looking to buy a new road bike, something I'll use for a daily commute as well as cycling to Amsterdam in April (200 mile trip).

My budget is around £250, and I could probably stretch to £300.

I've been looking on Gumtree to get a more value for money and have found this offered for £250:

Men's Giant Defy 2012 Aluxx ML Road bike

Would it be worth it? One catch, I'm 6 ft and it is a 54cm frame.

Thanks.

Attachments

• $_86.JPG
    $_86.JPG
    67.3 KB · Views: 50

Hugh Manatee

Veteran
A tad small I reckon. Only one way to find out.

CanucksTraveller

Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
I'm 6 foot and I ride a Giant M/L. Don't take much notice of the cm sizing on Giants, they have a compact geometry that skews things quite a bit... just go and try one.

250 pounds is expensive for one so old mind you, you can get last year's model, brand new, for 600. Beyond the budget I know, but I just wanted to highlight what a reasonable price might be. You could find a 2 year old model for less than 300.
IF (and it's a big if) this one is hardly used and nothing needs replacing, you might pay up to 200 for it. But if the chainset is worn, wheels worn, etc etc, revise down accordingly. Parts like this are expensive.

biggs682

Touch it up and ride it
@DAX10 i would think the Giant would either be just a bit on the small side or spot on if local go and try it and see what you think

where are you based ?

there will be cc'ers who might be local to you and they might be able to offer some local help

but loads of lightly used bargains on Gumtree so keep looking

OP
OP
D

DAX10

Regular
Thanks for the feedback guys. I'm currently based in Portsmouth and willing to travel in the South East.

There is also this one for £275?

If not would the above one be recommended for £299?

Attachments