Beginner fixie

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

KyleSorley

Hi there. First post on the forum so take it easy. I am 24 and living on the south side of Glasgow and looking to get into cycling mainly to commute to uni and get fit. My uncle is right into his bikes and has a carbon trek and some cannodale? After speaking with him about it we got onto the subject of fixed wheel bikes. I think they sound amazing and love the idea of being in touch with the road and the simple looks. My question is where is best to purchase one and any advise would be greatly appreciated. Being a student I have a budget of about £200 max! I would rather get a better second had bike for the price than get a new one that will put me off. That is unless there are good light ones to be had for that price. I was looking on eBay and saw this,

http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&alt=web&id=121356294692

Rohloff_Brompton_Rider

Formerly just_fixed
Lfgss.co.uk

Is the best uk site for fixie advice by far. There's usually a local facebook group as well which usually has local bargains.

Profpointy

Legendary Member
I guess any 2nd hand bike with horizontal dropouts at the back is suitable.
:welcome:You're looking at a fixie to commute and don't cycle regularly :crazy: get one with a flip-flop with the same size SS cog

Well if I was getting a flip-flop, I'd be inclined to get a lower gear on the freewheel side, 'cause then you can get up steeper hills but not have to pedal like buggery down the other side. Advice based purely on theory, as mine's fixie only

raleighnut

Legendary Member
I guess any 2nd hand bike with horizontal dropouts at the back is suitable.

Well if I was getting a flip-flop, I'd be inclined to get a lower gear on the freewheel side, 'cause then you can get up steeper hills but not have to pedal like buggery down the other side. Advice based purely on theory, as mine's fixie only
I was thinking more about cornering.:eek:

OP
OP
K