Beginners calf Muscle pain

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

CarlB61

HI Folks,

I am a newbie. I been following the sport a few years and with the introduction of the cycle scheme at work and inspired by Bradley and a couple of cycle fans at my work i have got a road bike and off i go. I am 45 and not fit so this seemed a great pastime/sport/etc to pursue and enjoy my days off especially when the kids were at school, get fit, maybe meet some new friends and eventually be able to do a few good long rides around my county of Worcestershire and into Wales

So i am off - hadn't ridden a bike for maybe 25+ years since school. I have thrown myself in and got some clipless SPD's and have started to break myself in doing about 10km circuits by me taking between 30 to 45 minutes every few days. But I am finding that i am finishing the rides with intense pain in my calf muscles in my lower legs - i think its called the soleus. The pain is the same in both legs and my thighs elsewhere are ok.If i try and get out of the saddle its almost impossible as my legs feel shot. Next morning, they are really stiff and sore. I am now even more in awe of these pro's than ever.

Is this normal? or could it be the bike/my shoes/ etc are not set up correctly which in truth I attempted myself as the bike was delivered by courier by the company looking after my companies scheme.

Should i wait for my legs to recover completely before getting back out? or should i just work through the pain. And will it ever get better?

I would appreciate any thoughts or help.

Thanks in advance

Carl
Team OMGthePAIN

Ozzrahog

rest days are important

festival

Über Member
So many things to consider, in no particular order.
Cleat alignment, saddle height, saddle position fore/aft, pedaling action, general bike fit, wrong size bike etc.