Benefit of fixed

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Bicycle

I am not a cycling zealot and (I hope) not a faddist either.

But... I am a recent convert to fixed-gear cycling.

(No Damascene conversion for me; I had an early-90s road frame lying around and was curious what all the fuss was about).

Here's the (extraordinary - for me) thing:

I'm in no doubt at all that in 6-odd months riding fixed has made my pedalling action much, much smoother.

Also, I think I'm able to run for longer at higher candences and to use very high cadences (for me) without bouncing in the saddle.

I'm new to this fixed-gear thing, but as far as I can see it benefits technique enormously. Massively.

I rode my 69" fixed-gear bike up into the Malvern Hills today. It was all a bit difficult and I had some unusual moments when descending, but I feel I can do things now that were out of the question before riding fixed.

I still can't do a track stand, but that hasn't really been a priority for me...

Am I seeing benefits where there are none, or is there something in this?

Ibbots

I am not a cycling zealot and (I hope) not a faddist either.

But... I am a recent convert to fixed-gear cycling.

(No Damascene conversion for me; I had an early-90s road frame lying around and was curious what all the fuss was about).

Here's the (extraordinary - for me) thing:

I'm in no doubt at all that in 6-odd months riding fixed has made my pedalling action much, much smoother.

Also, I think I'm able to run for longer at higher candences and to use very high cadences (for me) without bouncing in the saddle.

I'm new to this fixed-gear thing, but as far as I can see it benefits technique enormously. Massively.

I rode my 69" fixed-gear bike up into the Malvern Hills today. It was all a bit difficult and I had some unusual moments when descending, but I feel I can do things now that were out of the question before riding fixed.