best bike for me

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

darts180

Regular
hey I started to learn bike as an adult, I practiced on a mountain bike and did alot of off road practice then went to try camel trails where if you hire a bike it's a comfortable seat hybrid and that was a very smooth ride on different surfaces. I would like to ask would a hybrid be ok for wheeler groups where they cycle for miles, ive seen it on strava where there's lots of elevation and good 30 plus miles, it's like they make an afternoon out of it. I see where people say hybrid not good for many miles but better at shorter distances on any surface. what would be your advice here and would £300 hybrid work well for cycling group rides? I'm new to this so just getting the ideas at the moment yeah.

Pat "5mph"

A kilogrammicaly challenged woman
Hi and welcome @darts180.
You mean a road bike, I think.
Certainly many members on here and on Strava do long distances on hybrids.
I did my first (and only, to date) 100 miler on a £180 hybrid with no ill effects, was actually great fun!
Hybrids are heavier and have fatter tyres than road bikes, so they are a bit slower (comparing them on the same rider) but then again mostly have a lower gearing, easier for hills.
There are cycling groups that go far and fast, groups that go far slowly, groups go slow or fast not very far, I think try a few to find out what kind of cycling you like before dismissing the bike you have.

OP
OP
D

darts180

Regular
hey thanks for that, I've been to different places that sell bikes but it's like I can't make my mind up lol almost like a nightmare looking at some many bikes but I definitely like the overall feel of a hybrid I must say. aswel as for rides with a local club I would also use it at home on the setup for zwift thing if the weather's abit crap.

Cycleops

Legendary Member