Hybrid Bike Tire for ~300 pounds?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi All,

Long story short, I am just beginning my biking journey. My son wanted to learn how to ride a bike and I sit for 8-12 hours a day, and I was definitely in need of some good ol' fashioned excersize. Hadn't ridden a bike since I was a teenager (I am now coming on 35 years old).

Anyway, I'm about a week in and have worked my way up to just a little over 20 minutes and just below 4 miles. For now, I am just riding in the neighborhood, since there is no excuse for not doing so (ie nowhere to drive to).

My bike is a GHOST Square Cross 1.8 and it has Kenda Flindridge Sport 40-622 (700-40c). The front tire seems a little more squished than I would prefer. Basically it seems flat or flat-ish. The tire sidewall states 30-50 PSI, I've inflated up to 60 PSI and no difference. I think maybe I am just to heavy for the tire, along with the fact the tire isn't a road bike tire. I weigh 280 pounds. My intention is NOT to go to a full road bike tire, but maybe something more road bike tire-ish that was still in the hybrid space would work better for my weight? Does higher PSI = more load rating?

I tend to overthink things, so not sure if I should look more into this or just ride what I have? I mean either way I'm going to ride it but still lol.

Attached are some screenshots from Zepp and Strava of my most recent ride. I was totally gassed afterwards! Especially on the uphill. I was definitely petering out a bit.

Added a pic of the tire ad well. Excuse the dog hair or whatever is on the tire lol.

Regards,

Philip

Attachments

• Screenshot_20240407_130847_Zepp.jpg
    Screenshot_20240407_130847_Zepp.jpg
    82.1 KB · Views: 36
  • Screenshot_20240407_130723_Strava.jpg
    Screenshot_20240407_130723_Strava.jpg
    40.7 KB · Views: 20
  • Screenshot_20240407_131720_Strava.jpg
    Screenshot_20240407_131720_Strava.jpg
    32.9 KB · Views: 16