Best mtb tyre for wet, muddy conditions

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

nosherduke996

O.K i am looking for a tyre for wet muddy conditions. I am a newbie at mtb and have purchased a Marin Mount visiuon 5.8 which i am very happy with.
However on the useual thurs night ride i had a very scary moment where the front of the bike almost washed out from under me.The tyres on the bike are Maxxis high rollers but does anybody think they are worth changing so this wont happen again.:blush:

Panter

Just call me Chris...
Highrollers aren't great on mud, but then to be fair, little is.

These are fantastic though, maybe worth fitting at least one on the front?

roadjunkie

For wet muddy conditions I would go with panaracer trailraker 2.1s. Ive done quite alot of wet mud riding and swear by them, the crap just seems to fall off them as the wheel rotates. Compared to other tyres ive seen the tread is more spaced out, im pretty sure they are designed for just this purpose. Defo worth upgrading to I would say...

maurice

Trailrakers are amazing for real muddy trails, you can get through bogs you'd never think possible.

However... they are noticeably draggy when it's not a quagmire. High rollers aren't bad tyres, I wouldn't let one slide put you off them, mtb'ing is all about sliding around.

Mr Pig

I've only used a few different tyres but the Continental Mountain King that I've got just now seem pretty good, I would certainly buy them again. Never washed out on me and give traction even when you expect them just to spin in the mud. Also available in a puncture resistant version.

Steve Austin

The Marmalade Kid
Best all round gravel and mud - bonty mud x
best for mud - traliraker
best for racing in mud - conti xc rear and schwalbe black shark mud front - both 1.5 wide

Trailrakers are great mud tyres but they are heavy and drag a lot. the bontrager mud x are a much better all round tyre

Jonathan M