Bike horizontal ceiling storage question

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

primarius

Hi.

I'm new to biking. Since I lack space in my apartment, I was thinking about keeping bike exactly the same like on the video:

View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9J9LcU-1RZs

My question is: Can this lateral pressure on wheels/ axis/ mechanics damage some parts in time, or it is perfectly ok to keep bike like this?

Any other simple suggestion ok storing bike parallel to ceiling is welcome.

Thanks

I quite like that solution, looks home made so I'd probably want to have some sort of hook and fastener for the rope rather than tieing it every time which I'd regard as a bit of a faff.

I don't have a parellel to ceiling solution but I used one of these for a while, advantage is its free standing so no need to drill into wall etc You could just store a bike on top, you wouldn't get as much space as storing it horizontally but its better than on the floor.

https://www.topeak.com/global/en/product/249-TWOUP-TUNEUP-BIKE-STAND

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
All depends if you are OK drilling holes in your celling/can find a joist. I have a free standing version of the topeak above which is quite handy for storing one of the bikes out of the way in the garage - the rest are on wall hooks.

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Neat solution. There is no pressure on any components as far as I can see.
You just need to make sure your joists are substantial enough.

The bike's spokes and rims are under considerably more strain when being ridden than when just hanging there. If you're worried about one side of the spokes being under tension and the other compression for long periods of time, just rotate the valve a bit further round each time you hang the bike as the loads differ around the wheel. But it's a non-issue really, more for peace of mind!

I'd be more worried about the bike dropping crap (or drip-drying if I washed it) onto the sofa! ^_^

OP
OP
P