Bike seats for baby / toddler

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

straas

Matt
My sons around 16 months old now so seems robust enough to go in a bike seat, but I don't really know where to start.

I don't love the look of the rear carriers as he'd just be looking at my back.

Does anyone have experience of the ones mounted on the top tube? Are they easy to take on and off?

Or could you convince me to use a rear one?

Not sure what bike I'd put it on, either a Ribble audax with a rear rack, or a hardtail MTB with no rack.

Cathryn

Legendary Member
I had a variety of things with my child as he grew up. We had a rear-mounted seat and he LOVED it. I have no experience of front seats and they look epic, but I wouldn't worry that a back-mounted seat won't be fun for him.

We also had a weehoo (second hand) when he was slightly older and that was FABULOUS. I'd hugely recommend if you can get one for him.

My son's 11 now (sob) and we've moved onto a tandem. As soon as the weather improves, we're going to give it a go.

OP
OP
straas

straas

Matt
Thanks Cathryn, that's really useful. Was installing and removing a quick process, or did you tend to just leave it on once installed?

Cathryn

Legendary Member
Just went down memory lane and found these. Such happy memories.

Attachments

• DSCF9084.JPG
    DSCF9084.JPG
    128.4 KB · Views: 27
  • IMG_4548.JPG
    IMG_4548.JPG
    130.4 KB · Views: 25

Cathryn

Legendary Member
That does look like a lot of fun!

I'm simultaneously sad about mine getting older and excited about the next stage.

I think that's the case with every single moment of parenthood. However, as someone who loved 4-year-olds so much she retrained to teach Reception, you've got the best bits yet to come.

(Except 8. 8 was rubbish).

figbat

Slippery scientist