Bloody old driver.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Spinney

Bimbleur extraordinaire
I think you were very cool and polite under the circumstances! Well done.

Paul_L

Über Member
you sound like Dom Joly!

It does though raise the age old question about repeat driving tests.

I don't know who old she is but lets's assume she's 70.

It could be perfectly feasible she's not had any driver tuition for over 50 years! And that can't be right.

StuartG

slower but further
It could be perfectly feasible she's not had any driver tuition for over 50 years! And that can't be right.
Do the statistics show that those who have had no tuition for 6 months are more dangerous than for 50 years?
At least that is what insurance premiums would suggest ...

Paul_L

Über Member
Do the statistics show that those who have had no tuition for 6 months are more dangerous than for 50 years?

i don't know about statistics but to give an example. i work in the construction industry in the water sector and i have been on numerous training courses. Quite a lot (hygiene, sewer safety, construction site safety and more) you have to go on refresher courses every few years to bring you up to date, iron out bad practices and to assess whether you should still hold the certificates you do. I'm also a trained first aider which is updated every 3 years. Now all of these courses either keep me and my colleagues safe or even alive.

So why is it the case that our driving is not re-assessed - apart from motoring convictions - from the day we pass our test for the rest of our lives?

OP
OP
thomas

thomas

the tank engine

taaa ddaaa

http://www.telegraph...-motorways.html

The recommendations follow a detailed analysis of seven years of police crash data by the institute, which showed that older drivers were safer than their younger counterparts on some 'local' roads, but at increased risk on motorways or where traffic was moving quickly.